Field of 18 to contend for Hilltops council election

The first democratically elected Hilltops Regional Council will be fought out between 18 candidates.

Council general manager Anthony McMahon said 11 councillors will be chosen by the community in the September 9 election.

“The first term of the new Hilltops Council will be for three years to re-align with the next ordinary election of councils,” Mr McMahon said.

“Subsequent council terms will revert back to the standard four-year terms.

“Once elected, the members of the newly formed council will then elect the positions of mayor and deputy mayor; the mayor holds office for two years while the deputy mayor is elected annually”.

Mr McMahon said details on the candidates and the ballot paper, along with information on pre-polling, postal votes and election day polling booths, can all be found on the NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) website:

“Applications for postal voting close in early September,” Mr McMahon said.

“Pre-poll voting starts on Monday, August 28 and for those voting on election day, polling booths are open from 8am to 6pm, with 14 local polling places within the Hilltops region, all of which are listed on the NSWEC website.”


Wendy Tuckerman

Jack Ryan

Chis Corcoran

Chris Manchester

Tony Flanery

Joe Kinsela

John Horton

Brian Ingram

Greg Armstrong

Rita O’Connor

Margaret Roles

Tricia Mack

Bruce Smith

Tony Wallace

Matthew Stadtmiller

Wes Leseberg

Peter Holding

John Walker


Discuss "Field of 18 to contend for Hilltops council election"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.