Harden lady bowlers are off to state level in Pennants

The Harden Ladies Number 4 Pennant teams exceeded themselves at Young on Tuesday and Wednesday last week. They cleaned up the opposition in the Region 10 Pennant Play-offs to make their way to the State Number 4 Pennant Play-off to be held in Terrigal on August 14 through to August 18.

They played outstanding bowls to make the last 16 in the state. Results of their winning matches are as follows:

Tuesday: Harden (South West) v Junee/Coolamon (Central Riverina)

Jenny Ricketts, Donna Chesworth, Dianne Debritt and Chris Hancock d Stacey Hague, Patricia Lanson, Kathie Thompson and Helen Jenning 24-13. 

Ann Larsen, Robyn Apps, Joan Clark and Pat Walker d Vera McKelvie, Evelyn Kitzur and Helen Platt 19-13.

Aggregate: Harden (South West) 43; Junee/Coolamon (Central Riverina) 26.

Wednesday: Harden (South West) v West Wyalong (Southern Slopes)

Jenny Ricketts, Donna Chesworth, Dianne Debritt and Chris Hancock d Doriel Crampton, Noeline Fuller, Jodie Quinn and Dorinda Kearns 22-17.

Ann Larsen, Robyn Apps, Joan Clark and Pat Walker d Helen Reid, Helen Piefke, Nellie Lance and Lorraine Williams 22-16.

Aggregate: Harden (South West 44; West Wyalong (Southern Slopes) 33.

Mufti Bowls Sunday: Shane McKellar, Tony Deverson and Warwick Prosser d Craig Cooper, Tony Zervos, and Neil Turner 12-10. Shane, Tony andWarwick won the chooks.

Major Pairs Championship: Rod James and David Bodell d Tony Fisher and Kyle Murray 20-8.

An easy win for Rod and David, they led from the very first end and were never in danger of defeat. Tony and Kyle played some nice bowls, but  on the day found Rod and David too good.

Number 4 Pennant Team: On Sunday, Harden’s Number 4 Pennant team will travel to Temora for the Zone 8 Pennant playoff. The team has a bye on Saturday, and will play the winners of Holbrook and Temora Ex Services at 9.20 am.

While Tumut and Leeton meet in the other semi-final, the winners from both semi-finals will play the finals on Sunday afternoon at 1.20 pm. Teams to represent Harden are: Tom Apps, Craig Phillis, Kyle Murray and Reuben Rycroft; Terry Ricketts, Tony Fisher, Chris Hocking and Doug Hawkins; Rod James, David Bodell, John Peterson and Shane McKellar. Reserve: Tony Zervos; Manager: Warren Chesworth. Players are to organise their transport; some bowlers are leving Saturday and if so, should inform Terry Ricketts or Warren Chesworth.

Vale: Bowlers were saddened to hear of the passing of former Longtime club member and bowler Patsy Prosser. We offer our deepest sympathy to her family.


Discuss "Harden ladies win to make state play-offs"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.